NRM recaptures Nebbi LC-V chair

NRM’s Emmanuel Urombi has won the by-elections for the Nebbi LC-V chairman, beating off a serious challenge from Independent candidate George Othuba.

Urombi polled 22,280 votes against Othuba’s 18,323 votes, according to the final results tally announced by the district’s returning officer, Michael Arinaitwe.

The third candidate in the race, FDC’s Emmanuel Vick Onyai trailed with 4,022 votes.

The by-election was called following the death of William Ezrom Alenyo.

Election observers led by Crispin Kaheru of the Citizens Coalition for Electoral Democracy in Uganda (CCEDU) hailed the election as peaceful despite a low voter turnout.

“The CCEDU noted the low voter participation throughout the polling day. At the commencement of the polling exercise, stakeholders informed the CCEDU EOM that most voters were participating in market days in Erusi, Parombo, Wadelay, Payani and Pakwach. The voter turnout however, remained low until the closure of the polls at 4:00pm,” Kaheru said.