KCCA FC dominates Cranes Afcon squad

Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) Football Club and SC Vipers are the only local clubs that have contributed players to the Uganda Cranes squad for the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) tournament that kicks off next week in Cairo, Egypt.

The Cranes coach Sébastien Desabre named 23 players who have been forward to the Confederation of African Football (CAF) ahead of today’s deadline.

On the list are three KCCA players; Timothy Denis Awany (defender), Patrick Henry Kaddu (striker) and Allan Kyambadde (striker). Midfielder Tadeo Lwanga is the lone player from SC Vipers.

“The list will be submitted to CAF to beat today’s deadline. The shirt numbers have also been confirmed,” reads a statement posted on FUFA’s website.



Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia)


Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un attached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached)


Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda)


Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania)