Why NRM Buganda MPs formed a splinter group

NRM MPs hailing from Buganda have formed a breakaway group from the Buganda Parliamentary Caucus which they say is intended to “coordinate Party activities among themselves” in Parliament.

According to a statement by Rogers Mulindwa, the NRM secretariat communications officer, the committee will lobby programs and projects from government to benefit the entire Buganda Kingdom and liaise with the Mengo establishment to give support to Kingdom programs set to benefit the region.

However, sources at the Kyankwanzi National Leadership Institute (NALI) where NRM MPs are for a retreat have told that the splinter group was formed to weaken the Mukono South MP Johnson Muyanja Ssenyonga-led Buganda Parliamentary caucus whose leadership is seen to be opposed to extension of President Yoweri Museveni’s hold onto state power.

Ssenyonga and his deputy, Mpigi Woman MP Sarah Nakawunde Temulanda are among the 27 NRM MPs that voted against the removal of the presidential age limits from the Constitution. At Kyankwanzi, he opposed the resolution declaring Museveni the NRM sole candidate for 2021 elections.

The party leadership had wanted the Mukono South MP to move the motion declaring Museveni the sole candidate but he declined, and when Hellen Asamo (PWDs Eastern) moved it, Ssenyonga did not support it, further annoying the Museveni diehards.

Hours after the sole candidature resolution was passed on Sunday, the Buganda MPs convened and agreed to form a splinter group headed by Kabula MP, James Kakooza.

Kakooza is deputised Syda Bbumba (Nakaseke South) while Bukoto South’s Muyanja Mbabaali  was elected treasurer.  Joseph Muyomba Kasozi  (Bukoto Mid-West) is the general secretary while Simeo Nsubuga (Kasanda South)  was voted publicity secretary.

Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa Ssentamu will sit on the committee as an ex-Officio member while Bukuya MP Dr Michael Bukenya Kyabikoola is a committee member.

Foreign Affairs minister Sam Kahamba Kutesa  is the group’s patron.