‘Rebel’ MPs locked out of NRM retreat

Members of the NRM Parliamentary caucus will next go into a retreat at the National Leadership Institute (NALI) Kyankwanzi to purposely endorse a resolution by their party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC), declaring President Yoweri Museveni as a sole candidate.

Mid last month, CEC, NRM’s topmost decision making organ sat at Chobe Safari Lodge in Murchison Falls National Park and resolved front Museveni as the NRM sole candidate for the 2021 elections, pending endorsement of other party organs.

For six days beginning on March 13, the NRM caucus will be at NALI Kyankwanzi, the same venue where NRM MPs sat in 2014 to pass a similar resolution that ended up pushing their former Secretary General and Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi.

The party has however not invited its MPs who voted against the 2017 amendment of the Constitution to delete Article 102(b) that had legal backstops against the extension of President Museveni’s more than three decades hold onto power.

At least 27 NRM MPs voted against the amendment namely,  Hellen Kahunde (Kiryandongo Woman), Connie Nakayenze Galiwango (Mbale Woman), Norah Bigirwa (Hoima Woman), Anthony Ssemuli (Mubenda Municipality), Suzan Amero (Amuria Woman), Loy Katali (Jinja Woman), Monica Amoding (Kumi Woman), Sylvia Rwabogo (Kabarole Woman) and Henry Maurice Kibalya (Bugabula South).

Others are, James Kaberuka (Kinkiizi West), CD Lowila Oketayot (Pader Woman), James Acidri (Maracha East), Evelyn Chemutai (Buwko Woman), Richard Gafabusa (Bwamba), Justine Khainza (Bududa Woman) and Alex Ruhunda (Fort Portal Municipality).

The group leaders were Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga), Patrick Nsamba Oshabe (Kassanda South), Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga West) and John Baptist Nambeshe (Manjiya). They also had Dr Sam Lyomoki (Workers), Johnson Muyanja Ssenyonga (Mukono South), Robert Migadde Ndugwa (Buvuma), Sylvia AKello (Otuke Woman), Sarah Nakawunde Temulanda (Mpigi Woman), Denis Sabiiti (Rubanda East) and Louis Mbwatekamwa Gaffa.

“We are inviting only the 317 MPs who voted for the age limit, we are specific about that; the rebels, we don’t want,” a source in the Government Chief Whip’s office said.

Officers from the Internal Security Organisation will start accrediting the MPs invited for the retreat on Monday at Parliament’s conference hall.