Onyango, Cranes nominated for CAF awards

Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango is among the 34 players who have been shortlisted for the 2018 Africa footballer of the year 2018 award.

The 2017 winner of the African player of the year – based in Africa award was nominated on Friday during the extraordinary assembly of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in Accra, Ghana.

The Uganda national team skipper who is yet to concede any goal in the 2019 Africa cup of nations qualifiers will compete for the accolade alongside the likes of Liverpool duo of Mohammed Salah from Egypt and Sadio Mane from Senegal.

Others are, Abdelmoumene Djabou (ALG, Entente Setif), Ahmed Gomaa (EGY, Al Masry), Ahmed Musa (NGR, Al Nassr/KSA), Alex Iwobi (NGR, Arsenal/ENG), Andre Onana (CMR, Ajax/NED), Anis Badri (TUN, Esperance), Ayoub el Kaabi (MAR, Hebei China Fortune/CHN), Ben Malango (COD, TP Mazembe), Faneva Andriatsima (MAD, Clermont/FRA), Franck Kom (CMR, Esperance/TUN), Gelson (ANG, Primeiro Agosto), Hakim Ziyech (MAR, Ajax/NED), Idrissa Gueye (SEN, Everton/ENG), Ismail Haddad (MAR, Wydad Casablanca), Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (COD, V Club), Kalidou Koulibaly (SEN, Napoli/ITA), Mahmoud Benhalib (MAR, Raja Casablanca), Mehdi Benatia (MAR, Juventus/ITA), Moussa Marega (MLI, Porto/POR), Naby Keita (GUI, Liverpool/ENG), Odion Ighalo (NGR, Changchun Yatai/CHN), Percy Tau (RSA, Union Saint-Gilloise/BEL), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB, Arsenal/ENG), Riyad Mahrez (ALG, Manchester City/ENG), Taha Yassine Khenissi (TUN, Esperance), Thomas Partey (GHA, Atletico Madrid/ESP), Wahbi Khazri (TUN, Saint-Etienne/FRA), Walid Soliman (EGY, Al Ahly), Wilfried Zaha (CIV, Crystal Palace/ENG), Yacine Brahimi (ALG, Porto/POR), Youcef Belaili (ALG, Esperance/TUN).

The Cranes was nominated for the 2018 team of the year, competing with Kenya, Mauritania, Madagascar, Zimbabwe and Guinea Bissau. Uganda won this accolade two years ago in 2016 after qualifying for 2017 African cup of nation held in Gabon.

The winners will be announced and crowned on January 8, 2019 in Senegalese capital Dakar.