NRM fronts singer Rachel Magoola for Bugweri Woman seat

Musician Rachel Magoola has won the NRM flag for the newly created Bugweri Woman MP seat.

Magoola, popular for her 1990s hit song Obangaina garnered 13,172 votes, beating off a challenge from three other candidates.

Her closest challenger, Amina Mutesi polled 6,691 votes while Rose Birabwa collected 5,667 votes and Monica Musubika trailed with 1,409 votes.

Faraji Muziransa won the primaries for the district LC-V flag.

In Kassanda, youthful Nawirah Nalubowa is the NRM candidate for the district Woman MP seat.

She polled 12,667 votes against her closest challenger Jane Nantongo Ssemuddu who garnered 10,961 votes from a race that had six candidates.

In Hoima, Harriet Businge is the NRM flag bearer for the Woman MP by-elections while Jacinta Atuto will hold the party flag in the new Kapelabyong district.

Judith Achola Lyer Ogwang is the flag bearer in Kwania whereas Sylvia Vicky Awas is the ruling party candidate for the Nabilatuk Woman MP seat.