NRM cracks the whip, drops ‘rebel’ MPs from leadership positions

In what has been interpreted as a show of anger, the leadership of the ruling NRM party has dropped its errant members from Parliamentary leadership positions, two days to the much awaited Constitutional Court ruling on the age limit petition.

Among the 27 NRM MPs that opposed last year’s Constitutional Amendment that scrapped presidential age limits and extended the tenure of Parliament and Local governments to seven years, were MPs who held leadership positions as committee chairpersons and vice chairpersons.

Mbale Woman MP Connie Nakayenze Galiwango, wife to NRM secretariat’s director of Finance and Administration Hassan Galiwango has been dropped from the position of chairperson of the Education and Sports Committee.

Besides opposing the age limit amendment, Nakayenze also used her position to shoot down President Yoweri Museveni’s proposal to enhance salaries of science teachers to Shs 2million as opposed to Shs 600,000 for arts teachers.

Nakayenze was replaced by Jacob Opolot who has been her deputy.

Pader Woman MP Lowila CD Otekayot and Buvuma Islands MP Robert Migadde Ndugwa who have been heading the Agriculture committee as chairperson and deputy chairperson have both been dropped.

The committee will now be headed by Abim Woman MP Jane Okori-moe and Lawrence Akuguzibwe, the Mwenge North MP.

Fort Portal Municipality MP Alex Ruhunda has been booted from the Trade and Industry committee and replaced with Nansana Municipality Robert Sebunya who was among the MPs who were strategically added to the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs during the processing of the Age Limit bill.

Jinja Woman MP Loy Katali who has been deputy chair of the Finance committee has also been dropped as was Kampala Central MP Muhammad Nsereko who chaired the Equal Opportunities committee.

Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa

Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa watered down suggestions that the changes had nothing to do with the Constitutional amendments.


The Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga urged all the chairpersons and vice chairpersons who have been dropped to handle over officers and warned them against moving the placards on those offices as the offices they have been occupying belong to the Speaker and not MPs.