Minister stops elections in Ssembabule

The minister for Local Government Tom Butime cancelled the nominations and the rest of the electoral process in the new villages of Nabitanga Subcounty in Sembabule district.

Butime cancelled the new villages following June 18 petition by Theodore Ssekikubo the MP for Lwemiyaga County contesting the irregular creation of new villages in Nabitanga Sub County.

In a July 3 letter to the Chairman of the Electoral Commission Justice Simon Byabakama, Butime also cancelled the administrative units of Kyengumba, Kyoga, Kyasoboko, Keishe, Lwengoma, Njenje, Kisaana, Kitokoro, Lwentuuha, Gantaama B and Bugasha.

Butime based on Section 7 (9) of the Local Government Act which requires a resolution of the Sub County council yet on record, there were no minutes of the then Ntuusi Sub County council approving or requesting for the creation of new administrative units.

“This is therefore to pray for your immediate intervention and stop the illegality being committed.” Butime noted in his letter to the Chairman Electoral Commission.

For a new village to be formed, the Parish or Ward council has to get approval of a Subcounty, Division or Town council at the request of or in consultation with the relevant villages and the approval of the minister.

According to Butime, there is no evidence of any request done in the respective Parishes on creation of the new villages in the Council Resolution of the then Ntuusi Subcounty thus he cancelled his approval.

“This is therefore, to cancel the approval that had earlier been given and advise that due consultation is done before creation of the administrative units.”