40 drivers register for Fort Portal motor rally

Forty one rally drivers have registered for the fourth round of the Uganda national motor rally championship due in Fort Portal.

Of the past three rounds so far held, Jas Mangat and Ponsiano Lwakataka have each won two and one round respectively.

Clerk of the Course (COC) Joshua Mayanja said that, this rally will be challenging and advised drivers to get the appropriate tyres for the wet terrain since it is a rainy season.

The rally will have a total distance of 237.4km of which, 144km will be competitive.

Hassan Alwir won last year’s edition and is among the registered drivers for this year’s edition.

Currently Jas Mangat is leading the 2018 national rally championship with 200 points followed by new kid on the block Unisan Bakunda, former navigator to Arthur Blick who has so far crossed the finish line in all the rallies he has been part of this year with 161 points.

Reigning Uganda national rally champion Chritakis Fitidis is third on table with 140 points.

Fourty nine drivers have so far this year took part in the past three events; thirty nine on national rally championship, eight on two wheel drive championship and two competing in Clubman rally championship category.