Janet Museveni: Lack of community participation killing UPE

The Education and Sports Minister Janet Kataaha Museveni is sad that despite the efforts undertaken by the government to improve the education sector, an adamant community is failing the efforts.

She said that there is still a lack of community participation in Universal Primary Education (UPE), lack of school feeding which is the major cause of school dropouts and negative social perceptions and stigma on skills education and training among others.

Kataaha who is also the First Lady told journalists on Monday at the Uganda Media Centre in Kampala that despite the challenges, government is making positive strides to the development of the education sector.

For instance, in the passing financial year (2017/18), 54 primary schools have been constructed and launched in over 19 districts across the country.

In 54 selected primary schools, a total of 356 classrooms, 53 administration blocks, 108 five stance VIP Latrines for boys and girls, 63 two stance VIP latrines for teachers, 9 teachers houses and 63 water harvesting tanks have been built according to the minister.

Some districts like Arua, Isingiro, Alebtong among others are yet to have their newly constructed classrooms open due to a lack of furniture.

At the post-primary level, Kataaha said, a number of secondary schools and tertiary institutions are having works on going with all this geared towards improving the quality of education across the country.

“A total of 12 seed secondary schools have been constructed in different districts across the country and are at different stages of construction,” she said.
“The Lower Secondary curriculum was reviewed under 20 subject based approach designed along competences acquired as opposed to objectives, with learners expected to select 8-9 subjects,” the First Lady added.

The minister says they are still continuing with the construction of more tertiary institutions in Luweero, Kiruhura, Hoima, Arua, Bushenyi, Kabarole, Kayunga, Ntungamo, Tororo and Agago districts.