Lwakataka wins national rally championship third round in Masaka

Ponsiano Lwakataka has won the third round of the Uganda national rally championship after he posted the fastest time of 1:23:13 during the two days’ event held in areas of Masaka and Kyotera.

In the race held Sunday , Lwakataka was closely followed by Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru who crossed the finish line in 1:24:56.

Then followed by Unisan Bakunda who posted 1:25:46 and Ronald Sebuguzi 1:26:51
Susan Muwonge 1:28:46 respectively.

Rally favorite and the 2018 Uganda national rally championship leader Jas Mangat couldn’t finish the rally after his car got an engine problem on Sunday early morning forcing him to drop out.

Mangat remains on top of the National rally championship chat with 200points with Lwakataka now fifth on the championship with 100 points.

This is Lwakataka’s first rally win since 2013 when he won the Mbarara rally, and has been struggling for podium finish at least since he was acquitted of murder charges by court in December 2015.

Lwakatata had also won the Southern motor club rally seven years ago, then a rally king, Lwakataka was out competed by Suzan Muwonge who won the national rally championship.