Ochola makes first police shake-up


At 5:30pm on Monday, a radio message went out to the deputy Inspector General of Police Brig Muzeyi Sabiiti and all police directors announcing changes in the police command.

The radio message was from John Martin Okoth-Ochola, making his first changes since he formally took office as Inspector General of Police (IGP) last Thursday.

In the changes, Ochola has moved several senior officers from office jobs at the police headquarters to field jobs as commanders.

Key among the changes is AIGP Abbas Byakagaba who has been moved from the directorate of Oil and Gas to Counter Terrorism as director.

Senior Commissioner of Police Stephen Tanui who has been holding a desk in the IGP’s office is taken back to the Field Force Unit (FFU) as deputy commander.

Here below is the full list of the 23 senior police officers affected by the new appointments and transfers.

Name Former Position New Position
AIGP Abasi Byakagaba Oil and Gas Director Counter terrorism
AIGP Ndugutse John UPF’s attache to Uganda’s commission to Nairobi Remains
SCP Tanui Stephen IGP’s Office Deputy commander FFU
SCP Kaali Ali Fadhur Oil & gas FFU Commander
SCP Edyegu Richard IGP’s Office L&E Deputy director
SCP Tusiime Anne IGP’s office L&E Deputy director, construction division
SCP Tukahirwa Henry  IGP’s office Deputy director welfare, directorate of welfare & production
CP Bazil Mugisha L&E Deputy director T&Rs
CP Halango Timothy HRM R,P&D as CP strategic planning.
CP Opolot Jacob Omoding Operations officer FFU.
CP Niwabine Lawrence IGP’s office Welfare & production as  CP welfare
ACP Namuwoza Dennis KMP South KMP head quarters, Deptuty commander KMP.
ACP Akwango Esther IGP’s office Women affairs as AG,CP women afairs
ACP Kibwika Sarah AG. CP Traffic operations
ACP Emoding Anthony AG, CP Traffic administration
ACP Ecotu Agapitus FFU CT as Operations officer, Oil & Gas division
SSP Emitu Ezekiel KMP RPC Kaswa
SSP Mirondo Fred ASTU IGP’s office, personal assistant Legal
SSP Kakamba  Paul Kidepo RPC KMP South
SSP Onencan Stephen Sezibwa RPC Kidepo
ASP Kamar Stephen Greater Bushenyi OC Station, Kapelabyong, Amuria
ASP Kyahurwa Frank IGP’s office CID headquarters