FDC’s Mwiru wins Jinja by-election


Official results released by Electoral Commission official

At exactly 10pm, Rogers Sserunjogi, the Jinja district returning officer declared FDC’s Paul Mwiru the winner of the hotly contested Jinja Municipality East by-elections.
Mwiru was separated from NRM’s Nathan Igeme Nabeta by 1, 611 votes.
Mwiru garnered 6,654 votes while Nabeta polled 5,043 votes. ‬

This is the second time that Mwiru is defeating Nabeta in a by-election.
Out of the the more that 29,000 registered voters in the constituency, only 12,134 took part in Thursday’s by-elections.